Sunday, September 07, 2014

Newly Found Asteroid To Pass Close To Earth (9-7-14) | VIDEO

Bookmark and Share

Asteroid 2014 RC Is Buzzing Earth This Weekend

By Amanda Barnett
CNN
9-5-14

     (CNN) -- A newly discovered asteroid will pass "very close" to Earth on Sunday, NASA says.

The space rock is estimated to be 60 feet (18 meters) long. It's expected to fly over New Zealand about 2:18 p.m. EDT (11:18 a.m. PDT / 18:18 UTC.)

It won't hit Earth or any of the thousands of satellites orbiting the planet, NASA says. It will give astronomers and scientists a chance to study it.

The asteroid won't be visible the naked eye, but amateur astronomers should be able to see it with telescopes.

Called 2014 RC, the asteroid was discovered on August 31 by the Catalina Sky Survey near Tucson, Arizona.



No comments :

Post a Comment

Dear Contributor,

Your comments are greatly appreciated, and coveted; however, blatant mis-use of this site's bandwidth will not be tolerated (e.g., SPAM etc).

Additionally, healthy debate is invited; however, ad hominem and or vitriolic attacks will not be published. Please keep your arguments "to the issues" and present them with civility and proper decorum-FW






LIVE SIGHTING REPORTS BY MUFON