Monday, July 13, 2015

New Horizons Probe's July 14 Pluto Flyby

 
 
Bookmark and Share

New Horizons Lorri Observations

By SPACE.com
7-11-15

     NASA's New Horizons probe is about to lift the veil on Pluto. On July 14, New Horizons will perform the first-ever flyby of the faraway dwarf planet, zooming within 7,800 miles (12,500 kilometers) of its frigid surface. The close encounter will give researchers their first up-close looks at Pluto, which has remained mysterious since its 1930 discovery. LATEST VIDEO: Undiscovered Country - How Many More Plutos Are There?

Update for Sunday, July 12: As of Sunday morning, New Horizons was just 1.36 million miles (2.19 million kilometers) from Pluto, and less than two days from closest approach. The spacecraft is healthy and performing well, mission team members said. The team received some optical-navigation data from New Horizons earlier this morning and expects to get a final set around 1:30 p.m. EDT (1730 GMT) today; this information will help the probe's handlers determine if they need to make any slight timing adjustments to their plan for science observations during closest Pluto approach, which will occur at 7:49 a.m. EDT (1149 GMT) on Tuesday (July 14). At that time, New Horizons will zoom within 7,800 miles (12,500 km) of the dwarf planet's surface. . . .



No comments :

Post a Comment

Dear Contributor,

Your comments are greatly appreciated, and coveted; however, blatant mis-use of this site's bandwidth will not be tolerated (e.g., SPAM etc).

Additionally, healthy debate is invited; however, ad hominem and or vitriolic attacks will not be published. Please keep your arguments "to the issues" and present them with civility and proper decorum-FW






LIVE SIGHTING REPORTS BY MUFON